Subsection 2.—Provincial Public Lands.

In the Maritime Provinces, in Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia (except the Railway Belt and the Peace River Block) the public lands have been administered by the Provincial Governments since Confederation. Owing to the transfer of the natural resources to the Prairie Provinces and British Columbia, as outlined in Chapter XXVII, p. 1019 of the 1931 Year Book, public lands in all provinces are now under provincial administration. In Prince Edward Island, as all the land is alienated, there are no provincial public lands.

Information regarding the amounts of disposable public land and the terms on which it may be secured is regularly given from year to year for each of the provinces in the Canada Year Book. However, since the revisions for the 1933 Year Book have been of a minor character and as there is a heavy pressure upon space, it has been decided to refer those interested in securing provincial public lands to pp. 921 to 927 of the 1932 Year Book, and to the following officials of the respective provinces: Minister of Lands and Forests, Halifax, N.S.; Deputy Minister of Lands and Mines, Fredericton, N.B.; Deputy Minister of Lands and Forests, Quebec, Que.; Minister of Lands and Forests, Parliament Bldgs., Toronto, Ont.; Director of Lands, Department of Mines and Natural Resources, Winnipeg, Man.; Director of Lands, Department of Natural Resources, Regina, Sask.; Publicity Commissioner, Edmonton, Aita.; Deputy Commissioner of Lands, Victoria, B.C.

Section 2.—National Defence.

Before the outbreak of the Great War, the Canadian Militia consisted of a Permanent Force, which on Mar. 31, 1914, numbered 3,000 officers, non-commissioned officers and men, and an Active Militia, which at the same date numbered 5,615 officers and 68,991 non-commissioned officers and men. After the outbreak of war on Aug. 4, 1914, successive contingents of troops of all arms were recruited, equipped, trained and dispatched by the Dominion Government to Great Britain for active service. When hostilities ceased on Nov. 11, 1918, there had been sent overseas, for active service in the Canadian Expeditionary Force, about 418,000 officers, non-commissioned officers and men.² In addition to these several thousand Canadians served with the Royal Air Force.

Organization.—Prior to 1922, three departments of the Canadian Government were concerned with the defence of Canada, viz.: the Department of Militia and Defence; the Department of the Naval Service; and the Air Board.

During the Session of 1922, the National Defence Act was passed, consolidating the Department of Militia and Defence, the Department of the Naval Service and the Air Board into the Department of National Defence. This Act became effective by proclamation on Jan. 1, 1923. Under it, there is a Minister of National Defence and a Deputy Minister of National Defence. To advise the Minister, a Defence Council has been constituted by Order in Council, consisting of a President (the Minister), a Vice-President (the Deputy Minister), and the following members: the Chief of the General Staff and the Chief of the Naval Staff. The Adjutant-General, the Quartermaster-General and the Senior Air Officer, Royal Canadian Air Force, are associate members. There is also a Secretary of the Council.

Revised by H. W. Brown, Asst. Deputy Minister, Department of National Defence.

For the detailed expenditures of the Dominion Government on account of war appropriations in the fiscal years 1915-21, see the Canada Year Book, 1921, p. 798.